Feedback to Get Back

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Ethics, Massage Therapy
Tags: , ,

“Criticism may not be agreeable, but it is necessary. It fulfils the same function as pain in the human body. It calls attention to an unhealthy state of things.”
– Winston Churchill

 

One thing that is crucial to progress in anything we do is great feedback. I have heard from many people, many different times that they don’t feel comfortable giving feedback in fear that they will offend someone. Constructive criticism will not only allow you to learn but get better as well.

 

I ask the public for feedback on this blog, so that I can learn about what interests them the most about the type of work that I do and how it can help them which leads me to discuss those topics to the best of my knowledge and hopefully give them insight and education. I ask my clients for feedback about the work that I do because if I don’t I feel that they won’t recieve the treatment that they desire and need.

 

In the past, I have heard co-workers tell me that it was wrong for me to talk during my sessions. As many of my clients already know, my sessions are your typical sessions. I believe it is most import to get as much information as possible to develop the best treatment plan suited for them. Most clients have a tendency to leave out crucial information on their Intake Form and I wasn’t able to attain it until asking them during the session. This information is needed to determine if there are any contraindications where massage could actually end up hurting the person and making the situations worse. The basic idea behind the Hippocratic Oath, that all health care providers take, is to “do no harm.” With proper feedback, a massage therapist will be able to avoid doing harm to you or causing any discomfort.

 

After reading this blog, I hope that you will be more inclined to give feedback to your massage therapist, mechanic, cook, or whatever service you are recieving, so that you can be most satisfied with the results!

 

Questions? Comments?

